top of page


In 2020, America will celebrate the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment. This amendment guaranteed women the right to vote. The Alabama Women’s Suffrage Centennial Committee (AWSCC) formed in 2019 to commemorate the achievements of the past and promote the importance of voting today. The committee is comprised of educators, historians, civic leaders, and interested citizens from across the state.

Executive Committee

Barbara Caddell, Co-Chair, Mobile

Christy Crow, Co-Chair, Union Springs

Melanie Bridgeforth, Birmingham

Tom Heflin, Tuscumbia

Kathy Jones, Huntsville

Steve Murray, Montgomery

Allison Skinner, Birmingham

Alyce Spruell, Tuscaloosa

Peggy Towns, Decatur

Tara White, Selma

bottom of page